Rheumatology Research Center

The Rheumatology Research Center (RRC) was created in 1981. RRC had 3 goals; teaching, research, and patient care. It was originally based in Shariati Hospital, Tehran University for Medical Sciences.

In 1994 the Ministry of Health, Treatment, and Medical Education officially recognized RRC. Later, in 2001 the Ministry of Health, Treatment, and Medical Education, chose the RRC as the "Center of Excellence" for Rheumatology in Iran. Since August 2003 RRC has been a member of the "Molecular Medicine Network of Iran".

RRC is mainly based in Shariati Hospital, in Tehran. The Center has three branches in Imam, Sina, and Amir-A'lam hospitals of Tehran University for Medical Sciences. A number of faculty members of other departments (Dermatology, Ophthalmology, Orthopedic Surgery, Physical Medicine, Neurology, etc) participate in the research activities of RRC. (Link to Staffs)

The following Rheumatology departments of other Universities for Medical Sciences are affiliated to RRC:

  • Mashad University for Medical Sciences,
  • Ahwaz University for Medical Sciences
  • Guilan University for Medical Sciences
  • Army University for Medical Sciences
  • Azad University for Medical Sciences
  • Mazandaran University for Medical Sciences
  • Yazd University for Medical Sciences
  • Kerman University for Medical Sciences
  • Kashan University for Medical Sciences
  • Baghiatallah University for Medical Sciences
  • Children Medical Center,
  • Pediatric department of Iran University for Medical Sciences
  • Elham

Center Goals

RRC had 3 goals:

teaching, research, and patient care.